Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-17-2011, 10:52 AM   #1
wms,Jr
Junior

Info wanted

My son and I are just startin this coastal fishin thing. I have some experience with bass in the kelp and scampis and the like, from 20 years ago, but would like to delve further into it. Can't see goin as big as some of you do with the sharks and giant white sea bass but would like some tips on pullin some bass outta the kelp at Swamis or Pipes, maybe also if there are any fish up around Carlsbad or Oceanside Harbor. We have the basics, poles, boardfisher boxes, some plastics and irons, need the current techniques and spots. Never blogged before, hope this is in the right spot.
wms,Jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:00 AM   #2
MuddyMike

Do you plan on fishing from kayaks? or are you looking for fishing info in general. I don't have anything else based on the answer, but others might.

Check out the 'Information' link above. There's some good articles there. ( http://www.bigwatersedge.com/index.php?page=infohome )

Here's another good list of articles: http://www.plasticnavy.com/kayak-fishing-articles.htm
MuddyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:18 AM   #3
j mo

Swamis / Pipes / Beacons will be easy pickens for you and your boy, but make sure you choose a day when the surf is tiny as launching from n county takes a little more planning.... ffice

Root beer scampi’s will work great and white shad produces as well and in summer you'll want a croc to play with the barricuda; or you can talk to Jake at Blue Water Tackle and he'll help you spend your money on give you advise on colors etc.