Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge  

Go Back   Kayak Fishing Adventures on Big Water’s Edge > Kayak Fishing Forum - Message Board > General Kayak Fishing Discussion
Home Forum Online Store Information LJ Webcam Gallery Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-26-2014, 05:58 PM   #1
senorfish
Junior

Your thoughts on a Ocean Kayak Trident 15

I'm thinking of purchasing a Trident 15 from a friend for $500. The kayak is in good condition with no scratches on the hull or sides. The price includes the seat, paddle and transport wheels. I'm new to kayaking and would like to learn to fish from a yak but I'm not sure what to buy. Does anyone here recommend this boat? Any thoughts good or bad?

Thanks,
Fred
senorfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 06:05 PM   #2
MrPatrick

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1395885574.725491.jpg
Great kayak! Fits almost everybody. Fast, stable, rod pod, in and out of the surf well. I'm 5'9" and 250+, not flexible, not agile and very comfortable in all conditions. It takes big boat wakes and swells like a champ and it has the rod pod!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
MrPatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 07:35 PM   #3
Hunters Pa

I have one and it is my third kayak. I am 5'11" and 150# and really like the Trident. I have also had a Scupper Pro tankwell and a regular Prowler 15.

For me the Trident is a nice dry ride and tracks well. I especially like the ability to stow items inside the rod pod - dry bag, hand pump, spare 2-piece paddle - and store the rods for surf launch (not a problem in the past) and landing (when I typically provide entertainment to anyone around). The transducer mount is a nice bonus as is the sonar shield.

I like the recess where the tacklebox fits - feature of the regular Prowler as well.